Chinglish by Sue Cheung

Spoiler-free review of Chinglish by Sue Cheung


Synopsis

It is difficult trying to talk in our family cos:
a) Grandparents don’t speak English at all
b) Mum hardly speaks any English
c) Me, Bonny and Simon hardly speak Chinese
d) Dad speaks Chinese and good English – but doesn’t like talking
In other words, we all have to cobble together tiny bits of English and Chinese into a rubbish new language I call ‘Chinglish’. It is very awkward.

Jo Kwan is a teenager growing up in 1980s Coventry with her annoying little sister, too-cool older brother, a series of very unlucky pets and utterly bonkers parents. But unlike the other kids at her new school or her posh cousins, Jo lives above her parents’ Chinese takeaway. And things can be tough – whether it’s unruly customers or the snotty popular girls who bully Jo for being different. Even when she does find a BFF who actually likes Jo for herself, she still has to contend with her erratic dad’s behaviour. All Jo dreams of is breaking free and forging a career as an artist.

Told in diary entries and doodles, Jo’s brilliantly funny observations about life, family and char siu make for a searingly honest portrayal of life on the other side of the takeaway counter.


My thoughts

Thank you so much to Pansing for sending me a review copy! However, all opinions is entirely my own!

Three-word description : Chinese, family, dream
My rating : 4 / 5 stars

Ahhhh, this book just hits home for me! This story is about Jo growing up in the 1980s Singapore, having to deal with her daily family feuds and adversities in life. This book is spanned across 4 years and the acknowledgement actually mentioned that this is a piece of Sue’s life, with added fictional aspects to it which makes me appreciate this even more seeing that someone actually went through the things that Jo in the story went through and had the courage to share.

The story is actually told in the form of a diary, and it definitely reminds me of Dork Diaries, one I used to read and obsess over! Jo is such a funny narrator, her witty comments on daily events that happened made the story so much more enjoyable to read! Also, there are illustrations all throughout the novel too, in a cartoon-ish style which also adds to the story since it is a diary after all!

I am a Chinese growing up in Malaysia, so we do have similarities in terms of the stereotypes and traditions I guess so this was so, so relatable to me. It screams super authentic in terms of the representations and the language, Chinglish (mixed English and Chinese) is very much the same as how I converse on a daily basis. All in all, this is such a great book for people like me, or for people who wants to know how it is living as an Asian, specifically Chinese!

This book deals consistently with bullying and how Jo reacts to them throughout different stages of her life. She has transformed so much in the book, I am so proud of how far she’s come. From a timid, shy girl who does not know how to stand up for herself, to defending herself and does not back down from bullies, this is really inspirational for those who may have had a hard time with bullies.

Not just that, I find that she matures overtime, finally coming to terms that it is okay to not follow every order, but to create and go on your own path, to chase those dreams, and ultimately, to have a dream and know what you want in life. Most importantly, to go after what you aspire to be.

Family is a huge thing in the book and I am so glad it is. Jo’s parents and siblings are somehow similar in ways to mine. From the constant nagging and daily dose of annoyance, I laughed so hard. I also find that the book has some really important messages told and conveyed in a very light but impactful way. I feel that everyone will get something out of it and I highly recommend this to all walks of life!

Leave a comment